top of page
Search
  • katieecusack

First Year: Endless Opportunities

Updated: Dec 30, 2019

Experiential learning does not merely happen in a classroom setting. It goes beyond pen and paper, into the various realms of the real world and with multiple types of people. CLDP understands and embraces this phenomenon, and here's how.


Service

I am a strong believer in individual pursuit. If you go after something on your own you are more likely to have an interest in it, value the work, and cherish what it teaches you.

After a long day of volunteering for Interfaith Food Shuttle, an organization striving to relieve world hunger, we managed to re-plant rows and rows of crops after many were destroyed as a consequence of Hurricane Florence. This service opportunity was provided to CLDP through the Shelton Leadership Center at NC State University on Shelton’s Day of Service. My main takeaways were becoming comfortable with stepping out of my comfort zone when it comes to serving, as well as discovering a new organization and their mission. In addition, I learned new skills, which was both fun and beneficial to my community. This opened my eyes to the array of ways that everyone, including myself, can make a difference. Little did I know that I would continue to do these exact things for five days in a row during my cohort's service trip to Nashville in May of 2019. I would not realize until later that this particular service day is what inspired an idea, an idea which will give CLDP members more service experience. Today, my new personal goal is to participate in an unfamiliar form of serving each year; we shall see what I conquer next!


I am a strong believer in individual pursuit. If you go after something on your own you are more likely to have an interest in it, value the work, and cherish what it teaches you. Thus, as the Service Chair for CLDP, I proposed that each student should be required to go out of their own way to volunteer for a set amount of hours each semester and reflect on that/those experience(s). This quest will be totally their own, giving them the freedom to choose something that pertains to their individual interests, skills, experiences, and possibly career goals. I cannot wait for this initiative to flourish!


 

Fall Retreat


This picture was taken at a waterfall in the mountains of Valle Crucis, NC, where the first-year and second-year cohorts and I had our Fall Retreat. This not only allowed us to bond, but it allowed us to hear about where other people have come from, where they aspire to go, and what has morphed them into who they are and what they are passionate about. Learning about the diverse backgrounds, perspectives, and values among the members in CLDP encouraged me to continue with my pursuit of studying and interning abroad, immersed in a completely different culture and learning more about the people of this world, not just those that typically surround me. During these few days, I also learned how to make SMART goals. These are goals that are Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, and Time-bound. For example, one of the SMART goals I made that weekend was to put in my study abroad application by November 1st. Mission accomplished! We also took a test that unveiled what each of us value, my top five being faithfulness, complexity, having purpose, following God's will, and appreciating life's beauty. These are not just mere words and phrases, these are what influence all of my decisions, both big and small. From everyday, minuscule tasks such as what and where I eat, to who I create friendships with and what path I travel down towards personal development and my career. I loved hearing other people's values and how those too pertain to their unique personalities and choices.


 

Group Mentoring

they left me with confidence, the confidence of knowing that there are always people who have my best interest in their heart; people who not only support, but encourage my academic, career, and extra-curricular desires.

My mentors truly had some of the largest impacts on my first year here at NC State. Each month, I met with Dr. Jill Anderson, Dean Young, and two other first-year students in CLDP for one to two-hour discussions usually focused on a specific leadership and self-development topic. I was held accountable for the SMART goals that I made with the group after each meeting, and they left me with the confidence of knowing that there are always people who have my best interest in their heart; people who not only support but encourage my academic, career, and extra-curricular desires. This was a safe space. A space where I could be vulnerable and discuss with others (who I learned were not so different from myself) about any issues that I was going through while gaining their advice on ways in which I could tackle them. Being a freshman at the state’s largest university is certainly not easy. But, it is surely not impossible either. With their guidance, I know I made the best of it.


 

Engaging and Networking


Twice per semester, the two cohorts join in visiting the Chancellor and Mrs. Woodson at The Point. There we share with them about the progress we are making at NC State, update them on what we have learned and discovered through previous CLDP events, and express our gratitude to them for their massive investment of passion and resources into us. Often, they also participate in our interactive group activities before leading a Q&A style discussion. Similar to many students in CLDP, the couple came from a rural area and college was a massive leap. During their time as students, they craved for more access to opportunities and mentorships to help them navigate their journeys. Now, their mission is to use their success to help underrepresented students reach their own aspirations while becoming servant leaders.


Below are pictures from CLDP's annual showcase, also hosted graciously by the Chancellor and Mrs. Woodson. This was one of my favorite events because I was able to not only share my journey with CLDP, my inspirations, and my future goals with others, but I heard the stories of many professionals and made connections with each and every one of them in one form or another. I also became exposed to campus resources which pertain to my goals and interests, leaving with a stack full of business cards. Tending to always add an artistic flare to my work, I loved creating my visual before the event! It was awing to see what my peers came up with as well. The chemical model of morphine with Polaroid photos of friends attached, a structure of the NC State softball field embedded with quotes, and a dress made purely out of cotton balls where, to me, the most eye-catching.




















2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page